Drink driving penalties in Houston vary in accordance with the severity of offenses. Repeat DUI charges are felonies punishable by fines and jail time. Because penalties are severe, it is important to seek legal counsel from a Houston DWI lawyer, as soon as charges are brought forward
Surviving a DWI – Civil & Reputation Consequences
Drink driving penalties in Texas are some of the toughest in the United States. As for why this is, the reason is simple. In 2017, 944 DWI drivers in Texas resulted in 1,018 avoidable road deaths. Those killed in fatal crashes include passengers, other road users, and children.
Legal Advice for a First Drunk Driving Offense
There is a misconception that drink driving penalties for a first DWI offense are minor. In reality, nothing could be further from the truth. In Texas, even a first offense DWI can result in up to 180 days jail time.
Drink Driving Penalties in Brief
- First DWI offenses are punishable by $2,000 fines, accompanying jail time and license suspensions
- Where intoxicated drivers have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.15, fines start at $4,000. Jail time is often mandatory, and future driving restrictions may apply
- Drunk driving while accompanied in a vehicle by a minor is a felony. Penalties include $10,000 fines and up to 2-years state jail time.
Hiring a Houston DWI lawyer is Not Optional
When charged with drunk driving, you need to hire a Houston DWI lawyer. Without legal representation, the civil and financial consequences of a DWI charge can be devastating.
Download Branding Resources Guide
Building a brand starts by having the right tools and advice. Download our top 10 essential tools and resources to kick-start your branding.
- Suspended licenses and jail time result in employment becoming untenable
- Fines and jail time can devastate families and family finances
- Many individuals charged with drunk driving, don’t realize what they are up against until it is too late
How a Houston DWI Lawyer can Help
How a Houston DWI lawyer can fight DWI charges, is always case specific. Where arresting officers can’t prove probable cause, DWI charges can be reduced or quashed. When making arrests, Houston police also need to issue sobriety tests following strict guidelines.
A Houston DWI lawyer will check to see that proper procedures have been followed. Lawyers also review evidence of medical conditions which may result in sobriety test false positives.
Can Road Users Decline Police Sobriety Tests?
It is possible for Houston road users to refuse sobriety tests. However, in Texas, implied consent to testing applies to all road users. When drivers refuse to comply with sobriety tests, fines and driving bans are, therefore, applicable.
Roadside Sobriety Tests are Never 100% Accurate
Contrary to what many believe, police issued sobriety tests are rarely 100% accurate. Drink driving penalties can, therefore, be challenged by lawyers, even when evidence seems stacked against defendants. The most important thing for defendants to remember is that legal advice should be sought as soon as possible after DWI charges levied by police.